Inbounds or Out of Bounds? #1

Ruling: In "a" the situation would be considered out of bounds.
In "b" the situation would be considered inbounds.
In "c" the situation would be considered out of bounds.
Note- regardless of the defensive wrestler's buttocks, side of the thigh, and knee(s) being inbounds, when in near fall criteria "the defensive wrestler's shoulder or scapula is considered to be all the supporting points". When in near fall criteria, if the pinning area is outside the boundary line the defensive wrestler is considered to be out of bounds.
Rule 5-15-2b; when the defensive wrestler is on their back while supporting points of either wrestler are in bounds wrestling shall continue. In this situation any part of the defensive wrestler's shoulder or scapula is considered to be all the supporting points.
Rule 5-15-2c; near fall points or fall shall be earned only while the supporting points of either wrestler are inbounds. In a pinning situation, when all parts of the defensive wrestler's shoulders/scapula are on the mat beyond the boundary line, if the feet including toes and heels of the offensive wrestler are the supporting points, the offensive wrestler's knee(s) must be inside the boundary, whether in contact with or above the mat.

Inbounds or Out of Bounds #2

Ruling: In "a", "b", and "c" the situation would be considered inbounds. Because the defensive wrestler is not in near fall criteria, the buttocks, side of the thigh, or knee(s) can be considered as supporting points inbounds. Thus, regardless of the offensive wrestler's position, the situation would be considered inbounds.

Correction of Errors

Ruling: Once the official determines additional wrestling is required, the match continues immediately. In Situation A, wrestler A and wrestler B immediately proceed to the Sudden Victory period. In Situation B, the official calls for wrestler A to return to the mat. Once this is publicly announced, wrestler A has five minutes to return to the mat to wrestle. If wrestler A fails to return within five minutes, wrestler B wins the match by default.

Stickers on Headgear

4.3.1 SITUATION D: Is it permissible to have stick-ons placed on a wrestler’s ear guards? RULING: Stickers may be used as long as they do not relate to something that is unsportsmanlike.

Loss of Control Situation

Ruling: No. The defensive wrestler (B) does not reach a true standing position when one knee is still down on the mat. Wrestling action should have been stopped when penalizing the offensive wrestler (A) with a stalling warning. Action that occurred from the point the stalling warning was awarded until the wrestlers go out-of-bounds is considered bad time. The one point stalling penalty is deleted, approximately five seconds placed back on the clock, and wrestling resumed in the position the wrestlers were in when action should have been stopped.

Sudden Victory Situation

Ruling: No. Pursuant to the rule on overtime (6-7-1c), in the Sudden Victory period, "the wrestler who scores the first point(s) shall be declared the winner." Section 6-7-3 then states that "If the points earned in the sudden victory . . . involve a takedown . . . straight to near-fall criteria, the match shall continue until the near-fall or fall situation has concluded."

Therefore, Wrestler B won the match at the time he scored the takedown in the Sudden Victory period. Wrestler B had the opportunity to then go for a fall. But the defensive pin concluded the near-fall situation and the match was stopped. However, Wrestler B still scored the first points in the Sudden Victory period and is the winner.

This interpretation mirrors the Tech Fall rule in which once the 15 point advantage is earned, the winning wrestler cannot lose the match (except for flagrant misconduct) even if he is subsequently reversed and put on his back and pinned.

Near Fall with a Penalty

Ruling: Whether the period ends or an out-of-bounds situation occurs, the points awarded would be the same. The referee shall award three points for the near-fall and one point for grasping the ear guards.

Random Draw

Ruling: Incorrect procedure. The random draw is to take place immediately following the conclusion weigh-ins on Saturday.
Point of emphasis: Keep in mind that the random draw for tournaments is for first place matches only. Therefore, consolation matches must be wrestled in weight class order (103 through 285)

Reporting to the table first

Ruling: 6.2.2 A
Yes, The team that was determined by the premeet disk toss to send their wrestler to the scorer's table first is restricted and cannot be withdrawn or replaced without being disqualified. However, once both wrestlers have properly reported to the scorer's table in proper sequence, neither can be withdrawn or replaced without disqualification.

Fleeing the Mat while wrestler on their back

Ruling: There is an important difference in fleeing the mat and initiating a move or counter in the direction of the boundary line. Similarly, while wrestlers are obligated to make an effort to remain inbounds, the boundary line should not serve to handicap a wrestler or place him in a position of disadvantage, In the situation above, if the only reasonable option for Wrestler B to counter Wrestler A and escape from his predicament was initiating movement in the direction of the boundary line, then that should not be construed as fleeing the mat. If it were in the center of the mat, initiating a high bridge and sliding and/or turning in a particular direction would be perfectly reasonable. It remains a similarly reasonable alternative if it occurs at the edge of the mat. If the referee feels certain that Wrestler B had other alternatives, and initiated the bridge that carried him off the mat exclusively for the sake of going off the mat, then the call is correct.

Injury Time vs Blood Time

Ruling: First, A shall be granted an injury time-out and, as soon as it is detected that B is bleeding, the injury time for A would be stopped, and the bleeding clock for B would be started. Comments: In any bleeding situation, the bleeding must be taken care of prior to either the injury or recovery clock being started. In this situation, however, because the injury came to the attention of the referee first, it would count as one of the injury time-outs as well as whatever injury time that was used prior to the bleeding being discovered.

Intentional Release Situation

Ruling: The intentional takedown and release is not a violation in itself. However, in this situation Wrestler A was releasing as a method to demean his opponent. Therefore, the official was within his right to penalize for unnecessary roughness, as Wrestler B's face was being pushed into the mat with undo force. However, there could have been two other options: A) Stalling, as Wrestler was not making an effort to improve, or B) Unsportsmanlike conduct, as this was a effort to humiliate or demean his opponent.

Cradle vs. Locked Hands Situation

Ruling: As long as A keeps the hands locked in the cradle, there would be no change in control. The same would also be the case in a double cradle situation. When A's hands break and the official feels that B has gained control, a reversal would then be awarded.

False Start Injury Situation

Ruling:There could be several incidents that occur with legal maneuvers where a wrestler might become injured and not able to continue competition. As long as the referee feels that it is strictly a false start and no unnecessary roughness or unsportsmanlike conduct was involved then there would be no additional penalty beyond the false start. If the injured wrestler was unable to continue after a total of 1 1/2 minutes of injury time, then the injured wrestler would lose the match by default. If, however, the referee deemed the act as unnecessary roughness or unsportsmanlike conduct then the injured wrestler would be placed on recovery time. The offending wrestler would offending wrestler would be issued a caution and penalized 1 point. If, after 2 minutes of recovery time, the injured wrestler cannot continue, then he would be awarded the match.

Video Taping Situation

Although the National Federation has instituted a new ruling for the 2013-14 season (As of the 2017-2018 wrestling season an on-mat electronic device may be used for videotaping a match (rule 1.1.3). Any videotaping or filming for the purpose of reviewing during competition (*) is prohibited. An electronic device may not be used (i) to contest or dispute an official’s decision (rule 3-1-9), or (ii) for communications between coach and wrestler (rule 4-3-6).
For safety reasons, videotaping from the mat surface may only occur from the coach’s corner.
- A mounting device is not allowed to be setup in front of the coach’s chairs.
- All video equipment must be used in a manner that guarantees safety of competitors.
All videotaping, from the mat surface, may only be done by the “two team personnel permitted on chairs at the edge of the mat” (rule 2-2-2).
A violation of the foregoing situations will be penalized as unsportsmanlike conduct against the head coach.
(*) During competition is defined as the current match in progress.

In situation (a) in which Team A's manager is observed video recording from Team A's corner, on the wrestling mat, no violation has occurred. Videotaping form the corner, by the two team personnel, is allowed. In situation (b), if Team A's manager is away from the corner but on the wrestling mat, it would be a violation and Team A would be penalized for unsportsmanlike conduct (videotaping from the mat may only be done by the two team personnel allowed in the restricted corner area). If, however, Team A’s manager is off the wrestling mat and on the gym floor, there would be no violation. Note- this would not otherwise permit a team manager or other individual to sit at mat side if the tournament officials or tournament director has determined that no spectators should be allowed to sit at mat side. In situation (c), if Team A's manager is in the stands, there would be no violation. Note- it would be unsportsmanlike conduct if video were to be reviewed during a timeout (any videotaping or filming for the purpose of reviewing during competition is prohibited).

Common Myths in Wrestling for Coaches, Wrestlers and Fans

Myth 1: When the wrestler on top is called for locking hands, the bottom wrestler gets a free move.
Myth Buster: There is no such thing as a free move. Locking or overlapping the hands around the body or both legs is a technical violation. The referee should stop the match immediately unless the bottom wrestler is attempting and escape or reversal. If the bottom man is not doing anything when the violation occurs, there is nothing free and the match should be stopped. (Rule 8.1.2.e)

Myth 2: It is illegal for a wrestler to grab the thumb, one, two or three fingers of his opponent.
Myth Buster: A wrestler can grasp less than four fingers. It becomes illegal when a wrestler pulls back or twists the thumb or one/two/three fingers. (Rule 7.1.4)

Myth 3: It is a slam if the lifting wrestler does not touch his knee to the mat first.
Myth Buster: There is no requirement for the lifting wrestler's knee to hit the mat first. A wrestler must bring his opponent to the mat in a safe manner without unnecessary force. A slam can occur from any position. A loud noise on the mat does always not make it a slam while a slam can occur with little noise. (Rule 7.1.1)

Myth 4: When the bottom wrestler does a stand-up, the top wrestler has five seconds to return his opponent to the mat or it is stalling.
Myth Buster: There is no time specified for the offensive wrestler to return his opponent to the mat. It could be five seconds, 10 seconds or longer. It is a judgment call of the referee to make a determination if the top wrestler is making an honest attempt to return his opponent to the mat. (Rule 7.6)

Myth 5: A wrestler receiving a forfeit can report to the mat wearing his warm-ups.
Myth Buster: A wrestler must report to the table ready to wrestle and in the proper uniform regardless of receiving a forfeit. (Rule 5.13)